Saturday 2 February 2013

Types Of Primary Storage Devices For A Computer

Primary Storage Devices store data temporary. There are two types of primary storage devices,

(1) RAM (Random Access Memory)
(2) ROM (Read only Memory)

(1) RAM:
It is a volatile memory. This is called random access memory because nay piece of data available inside the memory can be accessed directly or randomly. RAM may be conventional and extended. Conventional memory is also called Base memory. First 640 Kilo Bytes of the total memory is called conventional memory is called Conventional memory, where the Operating system resides. Memory besides the conventional memory is called Extended Memory.
The RAM may be of following types, which are given below.

  • DRAM
  • SRAM
  • SIMM
  • DIMM

(2) ROM:
This is called read only memory because we can only read the contents of memory but we can not write on the ROM chip. This basically contains Display messages from the manufactures.
Run the POST (Power on Self Test), which checks the memory, keyboard, drives, printer and all attached devices. it perform the function of Searching for an Operating System.
It loads the BIOS (Basic Input Output System), which works with the microprocessor, for controlling the inputs and outputs. That’s why we some time called BIOS as ROM BIOS.
There are three types of ROM, which are given below.

  • PROM

1 comment:

  1. When it comes to pcs there are a lot of different options that are available. It is easy to become overwhelmed and confused with all of the technical terms related to the specifications of a pc.
    Self Storage